The U.S. Imposes Travel Restrictions on India

Compiled by: Ashik R. Jahan, Esq.


Due to the COVID-19 epidemic, particularly “the magnitude and scope” of the surge India is experiencing (1/3 of new global cases), the White House has issued new travel restrictions on India on the advice of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to protect the nation’s public health from travelers entering the U.S. from India.  Similar restrictions are already in place on most non-U.S. citizens and residents (with limited exceptions) who have been in South Africa, Brazil, the U.K., Ireland, China, Iran and the 26 countries in Europe in the Schengen area during the 14-day period preceding their entry or attempted entry into the U.S. The new travel restrictions will go into effect on May 4, 2021.


Leave a comment